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P-2110 General Application Procedures  (Continued) 
 
F. Lifeline/Link Up Vermont 
 
1. Lifeline Eligibility 
 
 In the 1985 legislative session, the Vermont legislature 

voted to participate in a nationwide program designed to 
help low-income households maintain telephone service.  A 
credit is deducted from the phone bills of eligible 
households.  This credit is computed as half of the 
company's lowest basic service charge or $5.50, whichever is 
greater, plus up to $3.50 in matching federal funds. 

 
  For example, NYNEX's lowest basic service rate is 

$13.68.  Half of this is $6.84.  The Lifeline benefit 
for a NYNEX customer is $10.34 ($6.84 in state funds 
plus $3.50 in federal funds). 

 
  A customer of one of the small phone companies, such as 

Shoreham Telephone Company, will receive a Lifeline 
credit based on that company's lowest basic service 
charge. 

 
 Two groups of people are eligible for Lifeline: 
 
 * Recipients of ANFC, food stamps, Medicaid (excluding 

those households in which the only recipients of DSW 
assistance are children who are coded eligible for 
Medicaid as Dr. Dynasaur), Essential Person, and fuel 
assistance. 

 
 * Low-income elderly (65 or older) who are not recipients 

of welfare.  Application is made by June 15 through the 
Vermont Tax Department, which sends the applications in 
batches to Operations for entry into ACCESS as soon as 
administratively possible.  Applications do not have to 
be filed with the tax return.  For instance, if an 
elderly food stamp client files her tax return on 
February 10th and loses her FS eligibility on April 
30th, she can still file a Lifeline application with 
the Vermont Tax Department by June 15th. 

 
 On the seventh of the month, ACCESS closes Lifeline for 

anyone whose DSW program benefits closed effective prior to 
that date. 

 
 Once a non-recipient of DSW benefits qualifies for Lifeline 

through the Vermont Tax Department application process, 



eligibility continues at least until the following June 
30th.  In July, ACCESS will close Lifeline for an elderly 
person who did not reapply with the current year's tax 
forms.  (Example:  A person applies with tax forms filed in 
March 1995.  He/she will receive the Lifeline credit through 
June 1996.  To receive the Lifeline credit after June, 
he/she would have to file a new application through the tax 
department by June 15, 1996.) 
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P-2110 General Application Procedures  (Continued) 
 
F. Lifeline/Link-Up Vermont  (Continued) 
 
 To be eligible for Lifeline, the person must have a phone 

installed in his/her residence: 
 
  - The phone does not necessarily need to be in the 

person's name, but the person must pay for it in 
full or in part. 

 
  - Lifeline is not available for business accounts, 

even if it is the only phone that a person has in 
his home. 

 
  - Only one credit can be applied to any one 

telephone number.  
 
2. Application for Lifeline 
 
  A person applies for Lifeline on the DSW 201. 
 
  Determine, for NYNEX customers, the three-digit 

customer code that follows the telephone number on 
every page of the phone bill.  (See sample below.)  The 
applicant has the option of providing the code or 
sending you a page from the phone bill. 

 
  If the phone is not in the Lifeline applicant's name, 

get a verbal statement from him or her confirming that 
he or she pays part or all of the telephone bill. 

 
  For ACCESS instructions, see the APPL/ADDR section of 

the ACCESS manual. 
 
  If, due to oversight, a Lifeline request is not entered 

on ACCESS, or is not entered timely, and the applicant 
requests a retroactive credit, contact Family Services 
Division to ask that a letter be sent to the phone 
company. 

 
 Lifeline requests made via the hotline will be entered 

at state office, with documentation of new requests 
appearing on the case action log (CATN). 
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P-2110 General Application Procedures  (Continued) 
 
F. Lifeline/Link-Up Vermont  (Continued) 
 
3. Lifeline Interface with Telephone Companies 
 
  On the seventh of the month, ACCESS generates the 

following information for the telephone companies: 
 
  - all recipients who have requested Lifeline since 

the last report; 
 
  - changes of phone numbers, codes and names since 

the last report; 
 
  - cases about which the phone company previously 

notified us of an error, whether you've had time 
to correct the error or not; and 

 
  - Lifeline recipients whose eligibility for DSW 

assistance ended effective prior to the seventh of 
that month. 

 
  The Lifeline credit will be deducted from the client's 

phone bill beginning with the first bill after the 
phone company has received and processed the 
information from DSW.  If the telephone company does 
not list Lifeline as a deduction, customers must 
compare the phone bill charges or call the phone 
company to assure the deduction was made.  NYNEX bills 
display the dollar amount of the Lifeline credit 
quarterly.  The estimated amount of time from the 
client's application to a reduction in the phone bill 
is 90 days. 

 
  Every three months we send the phone companies a 

reconciliation list of every Lifeline recipient. 
 
4. Lifeline Phone Number Error List 
 
  Each month the phone companies report back to state 

office: 
 
  - cases in which the phone number or customer code 

did not match the number in their files, 
  - business accounts, 
  - disconnects, and 
  - duplicate phone numbers. 
 
  State office staff enter discrepancy data on ACCESS, 



which generates an error message to you.  To correct 
the error:  

 
  - Determine which number, the phone number or 

customer code, is in error. 
  - Check to see if there was a data entry error. 
  - Contact the client to request the code or a 

current copy of the phone bill if there was no 
data entry error. 
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P-2110 General Application Procedures  (Continued) 
 
F. Lifeline/Link-Up Vermont  (Continued) 
 
5. Lifeline Changes 
 
  Each time a client moves and the telephone number 

changes, the telephone number and three-digit customer 
code (NYNEX) must be reverified.  If the telephone 
number is not in the client's name, then a verbal 
statement from the client is needed to confirm that 
he/she pays for the telephone in part or in whole. 

 
6. Link-Up Vermont 
 
 Anyone who has received ANFC, food stamps, Medicaid 

(excluding those households in which the only recipients of 
DSW assistance are children coded eligible for Medicaid as 
Dr. Dynasaur), or fuel assistance in the last 12 months is 
eligible for Link Up, a program to cut the cost of telephone 
installation for households without phone services. 

 
 Your responsibilities are to be aware of the program, tell 

clients who do not have a phone or who are moving about Link 
Up, provide an application if appropriate, and make a copy 
of the required verification form if necessary. 

 
 A supply of application forms is available on request from 

the Department of Public Service in Montpelier.  The client 
completes the form and returns it to the phone company. 

 
 Verification of DSW assistance is any one of the following: 
 
 * any notice showing receipt of benefits in ANFC, food 

stamps, fuel assistance or Medicaid for the adult 
household members within the last 12 months. 

 
 * validation on the Link Up application by a DSW 

employee. 
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